love it: sushi heaven!

I was never one to like sushi. The first time I ever tried it, I think I was afraid that the fish would come to life and start wriggling in my mouth. Yeah, I’m weird like that. I must say though, the first two or three times I had it, I wasn’t much of a fan, but in time, it grew on me. I was probably like every sushi-beginner; I always, and I mean, ALWAYS, ordered either the Dynamite (rice with shrimp tempura) or the California (rice with crab). After a while though, my palette was craving something more than just shrimp and crab, so I decided to venture into the world of sushi, trying everything from tuna to eel. Lets just put it this way: Eel (or unagi)? Never again. Didn’t go well at all; but tuna, shrimp, chicken, and lobster I liked. A lot.

The point of this post is to rave about one particular sushi place I have discovered in Toronto. It has become a ritual for me to eat here at least once a week. It’s called Sushi Moto and it’s very close to the Yonge and Sheppard intersection (for the address and details, see below). Guys, when I say this place is great, I mean it. The sushi is absolutely fantastic.

It is a bit on the expensive side compared to other sushi places in the area, but I think it’s worth every penny. It doesn’t look like much on the outside, although I do love those big chopsticks… I wonder if I could buy those and hang them in my room… :O yessssss. Once you’re inside though, it’s very classy. Booths, bar, and TV’s all around. The lighting is a bit on the dim side, but it doesn’t even matter because the place is THAT good. The people there are so nice and helpful and the best part about the whole thing, in my opinion – as well as a few friends whom I’ve gotten to join me in my love for this place – is their Moto Crunch Noodle Soup they serve on the house while you wait for your order. That thing is d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s. I cannot say it enough. It contains noodles, bits of tempura, and chicken broth. SO GOOD.

So that’s all I am going to be saying about this place. For those of you who live in Toronto, or plan to visit, you HAVE to go check it out. The address and phone number is:

4901 Yonge St
North York, ON
M2N 5N4

+1 (416) 224-0741

I will now leave you with what I had the last time I was there:

 
On the left: Kamikaze (tuna, tempura, spicy mayo + avocado on top). On the right: Yam Tempura Maki (for you vegetarians, yam tempura)

Happy drooling! (:

Yasmin, xx

Comments

  1. Shuuuu-mooooooo’s!
    How did I never see this post before? I hope this is where we’re doing lunch today, I couldn’t find any non-sketchy looking sushi places in Paris, I and I am in dire need of a Fire Roll and a Go Train Roll, like right now. <3 it.

Leave a Reply

