a pop of colour

I’m nervous! This is my first attempt at a makeup tutorial and I don’t know how it will turn out, but hopefully you guys will like it! I opted for taking pictures of the steps I took to achieve this look instead of making a video, as I do not feel comfortable enough to speak in front of a camera just yet, but I’m sure I’ll get there eventually!

So let’s start!

This is one of my favourite looks to do for pretty much any outing. It’s subtle enough to work as a daytime look, if you stop at Step 5, which is what I usually do for my every day face; if you continue all the way to Step 7, then the look will be good enough for a nice night out (especially if you’re one who does not like to over-do the amount of makeup in the eyeshadow department, like me. If you are, I’ll be making more heavy-eyed makeup tutorials some time in the near future). Now, let us go through the steps!

Step 1:
Apply a tiny drop of eye primer to your lids. This helps prevent your eyeshadow from creasing and keeps it on your lids all day. I’m using a sample of Too Faced Primed & Poreless face primer, since I ran out of eye primer. Mental note: Must head to Sephora!

Step 2:
With your ring finger (or an all-over eyeshadow brush), take any natural toned eyeshadow (shimmer or matte, depending on your preferences) and cover your whole lid with it. I’m using Benefit’s Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner in R.S.V.P. It is a gorgeous creamy light rose gold (Salmony? I’m bad at describing. The picture can do that for me!).

     

Step 3:
Using any eyeliner, line the top of your lash line (use a liner brush if you are using gel liner). I prefer a thin line of gel liner applied as close to my lash line as possible. I’m using the black gel liner by Maybelline EyeStudio and applying it with an angled liner brush.

          

Step 4:
Using the same liner, line the inside of your upper lash line to create the image of fuller lashes. Some say that using gel liner on the inside of your eyes is bad for you, but I haven’t had any problems with it so far. If you’re uncomfortable with the idea, then just use a pencil liner.

Step 5:
Apply your favourite mascara generously on your upper lashes. I’m using Lancôme’s Hypnôse Drama in Excessive Black. This mascara has a very wet consistency, which gives you ample time to add more coats (for a more dramatic look) without it drying up too fast and limiting your coat-adding desires!

     

Step 6:
Take any coloured eyeliner you like and line your waterline and lower lash line as well. I chose a turquoise blue kohl liner (not a brand or anything; I bought it at a pharmacy a long time ago in Dubai) because it went well with my outfit for the day. I also think adding a colourful element to a simple look like this really brightens it up and adds a bit of oomph, giving your eyes that pop that grabs attention!

     

Step 7:
I chose to put mascara on my lower lashes as well to round up the look, but you can skip this step if you want.

So here is the finished look:

 

I really hope you liked this and found it useful. Any makeup look requests are more than welcome so please let me know if there is any particular look you want me to do or any colours you want me to use!

Happy smizing! xx

PS. Smizing is the action of smiling with your eyes (: Thank you Tyra Banks!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Step 1: Apply a tiny bit of primer on your eye lids. This not only helps prevent your eyeshadow from creasing, but it also makes any colour you put on your lids stand out more. I’m using a sample of Too Faced Primed & Poreless face primer, since I ran out of eye primer (as I’ve mentioned in my first makeup tutorial). […]

Leave a Reply

