megan fox inspired look

She’s one of those celebrities that loves to rock a classic cat-eye liner, with barely there shadow or no shadow at all, lots and lots (and lots) of mascara, and either a red or pink lip. While browsing images of her on Google trying to find a different look I can attempt to recreate, I came across a picture where she had golden green shadow on. One thing I absolutely love about her is that she has heavy eyebrows. They are prominent and frame her eyes beautifully. On another note, the amount of contouring done on her cheeks is insane, but then again it was a magazine photo shoot so I guess it makes sense. I’ll be doing a separate post some time soon on how to contour your face in a way which can make you look thinner.

Now on to my take of this look. It’s not the exact same as hers; I’ve made a few changes to suit my liking. She has her liner smoked out at the outer corners of her eyes. It also seems like she has a bit of black eyeshadow on the outer corners as well. I decided to stick with a regular, but slightly thicker, winged line without smudging or smoking it out and pass on the black eyeshadow. I also passed on the fake lashes. You can achieve the same effect by just applying a few extra coats of mascara.

Let’s begin:

Step 1:
Apply a tiny bit of primer on your eye lids. This not only helps prevent your eyeshadow from creasing, but it also makes any colour you put on your lids stand out more. I’m using a sample of Too Faced Primed & Poreless face primer, since I ran out of eye primer (as I’ve mentioned in my first makeup tutorial).

     

Step 2:
With your ring finger (or an all-over eyeshadow brush), pick up some forest green eyeshadow and apply it to all over lid. If you have a golden green eyeshadow then just use it and skip Step 3. If you don’t, like myself, then use two separate shadows to achieve the same colour outcome. I’m using MAC’s Eyeshadow in Humid.

     

Step 3:
Again, with your ring finger (or an all-over eyeshadow brush), pick up some gold eyeshadow and apply it on top of the green. I’m using L’Oréal HiP Duo in Flare (only the gold half of the duo).

     

Step 4:
Using a crease shadow brush, pick up some brown eyeshadow (shimmer or matte, depending on your preferences), tap off the excess, and place your brush on the outer corner of your eye in your socket and move the brush in a back and forth motion, applying the shadow to your crease. If you’re not sure where your crease/socket is, just take the bottom of the brush and gently apply pressure to the part of your eye right above your eyeball and below your brow bone. If your brush goes in, then you’ve hit jackpot! I’m using the dark brown colour of a sample size of Shiseido’s Luminizing Satin Eye Color Trio in BR307 Strata.

          

Step 5:
Using an angled liner/brow brush, create a thick winged line above your lashes using gel liner (liquid or pencil liners also work and don’t require a brush). Start from the inner corner of your eyes and draw a thin line close to your lash line. As you move further down to the outer corner, increase the thickness of your line and wing it out. Apply liner to your top inner lash line (always stop your line at the point where your inner lashes end to make your eyes look more awake and open). For the waterline, only apply the liner halfway in from the outer corner.

                    

Step 6:
Apply a heavy coat of mascara on both top and bottom lashes (I use Lancôme’s Hypnôse Drama in Excessive Black). Next, if your eyebrows are thin and spacey like mine, fill them in with an eyebrow pencil to get that intense effect Megan has. If not, then you can skip this part and you’re done. I’m using Lancôme’s eyebrow pencil in Sable.

     

So here is the finished look:

I really hope you liked this and found it helpful. If anything seemed unclear, please let me know and I’ll be happy to explain it better! I leave you with a picture of me in sheer bliss at my ‘makeup station’ during this process!

Happy smizing! xx

Comments

  1. Mariam Hakim says:

    Love! especially with your eye color it really helps them pop :)

  2. You’re very pretty, and this look really makes your eyes pop!

    I’m still trying to figure out how to do a winged eyeliner. Haha, I can never get them even, or the angle looks ‘off’. I’ll keep trying. One of these days!

    • beautilosophy says:

      Aww thanks Mary! *blush*

      I can always do a post on how to do a winged eyeliner. It really isn’t all that bad to be honest. With a bit of practice, you can definitely get it right soon enough! :)

Leave a Reply

