how to style a maxi dress

Disclaimer: I love the camera and I am a poser. You’ve been warned (:

I was asked by a friend to do a post on how to style a maxi dress and thought I would give you guys ideas on how I would personally style my maxi dresses. I’m sure there are other ways you could dress them up (or down) but this is how I would wear them on different occasions. I am in no way an expert stylist; just thought I’d put that out there!

FYI: I’m wearing the same maxi dress in all the pictures. It’s a black one that I bought from FCUK in Vancouver, BC a year ago that was on sale for $80 (original price was $150+! Steal much?!). Check out the looks I put together below.

Look 1:
Mixing black and brown was never my thing, but I thought I would try it out and I really do like how it looks. You can accessorize pretty much any maxi dress with a large waist belt, some nice bangles or bracelets and a pair of wedge heels for a summery night-out feel.

Look 2:
For a more day time feel, you can add a large woven hat, bangles or bracelets, and a chunky necklace. I also think since this is a more casual look, instead of wedges, a pair of sandals, flats or slippers would tone the look down a little.

Look 3:
For an even more casual feel, just wear a light scarf around your neck, grab a bunch of bright bracelets that match, and a pair of sandals, flats or slippers in the same colour scheme. I will soon be doing a post on how to tie a scarf in a number of different and interesting ways.

Look 4:
This look would be good if you like having that one statement piece in your outfit, while everything else is toned down and neutral. Opt for a thin waist belt and a pair of sandals, flats or slippers that aren’t too flashy or would grab the most attention, and make your purse the statement piece with a pop of colour.

Look 5:
This look is not one I would wear on a night out, but maybe to a coffee or snack at a nice cafe with some girlfriends. Dress down your maxi by adding an unbuttoned dress-shirt tied at the bottom (old school Britney Spears style). Throw on a messenger or cross-body bag, a pair of sandals, flats or slippers and you’re good to go! For accessories, I added one feather earring as a statement piece that I got from Aldo.

Look 6:
Denim. Denim, denim, denim. I love it. Add a denim jacket if you’re wearing this look on a breezy night, or a denim vest if you’re wearing this look during the day. I love denim vests with maxi dresses, but sadly I don’t own one. This jacket isn’t mine either; it’s my mothers and I clipped it in the back to make it look like it fits me (sneaky style)! You can leave it at just that (the dress and denim jacket/vest) with a pair of sandals, flats or slippers, or you can also add a bright, colourful chunky necklace as an accessory. I love colourful jewelry with denim! Roll up the sleeves to make it look more edgy.

     

I hope you liked the way I styled my dress and helped you get some ideas on how to accessorize yours!

Happy styling! xx

Comments

  1. theumbrellabloggers says:

    I love this post! I love the maxi dress trend but I’ve never really understood how to style it. I think the last look is my best because I love the pop of color of the necklace! Great site :)

    • beautilosophy says:

      Thank you so much!! I really appreciate the comment :) you can always subscribe for more posts and feel free to make any suggestions on upcoming posts that you might want to see. Thanks and see you again soon I hope!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Look 5 & 6 are awesome!

    • beautilosophy says:

      Thanks! Look 6 is my favourite. It’s my perfect in-between :)

      • Cheers Rob. Yeah, I was actually sruirpsed to see the lines faded as much as they have. But in a year’s time I would expect them to be faded even further. I think if I was keeping something in my right back pocket the lines might actually fade even faster (suh), but all in good time. Yeah, the jeans have an interesting hue indeed. Although the fabric is similar to Copper Label, the raw start tends to personalize the process even further, so it’ll be interesting to see how the jeans evolve in comparison to my Copper Label G003-MB Momotaro Jeans.

      • xOglU2 zgmcjfwwqinz

Leave a Reply

