love it: sephora by o.p.i top coat

I’ve recently “stumbled upon” a random website which had this picture up, but I can’t remember the website name for the life of me. I did save the picture, though, because I thought it looked seriously cool and futuristic in a way. My recent love for nail polish colours and design is getting slightly out of hand, and my friends can vouch for me. The minute I saw this picture, I knew I had to go out and look for a matte black nail polish just so I can recreate this design, as simple as it is; but sadly, I couldn’t find it anywhere. What I did find, though, was even better! Thank you Sephora lady for informing me of this because apparently it’s a new and exclusive product.

Sephora by O.P.I top coat. Sounds pretty normal right? A top coat is a top coat, it doesn’t have magical powers! Well, you’re wrong. This top coat turns any nail polish you have on your nails matte. It takes away the shine and gives it a flat look. Now I know you’re wondering why in the world would anyone want to make their nails look flat and dull, but I’m sure there are people out there who would love to experiment with this product (like me)! It also protects your nails from chipping, just like any other top coat. I made swatches of the nail polish with and without the top coat for you to check out.

I didn’t recreate the black nail design in the picture above only because I don’t have a steady enough hand to do a french tip, but I’ll practice till I get it right and post a picture of it soon. What I did do, though, was paint my nails all grey. I used Rimmel London’s 60 Seconds nail polish in 805 Grey Matter for 4 nails, and a layer of Essie’s Muchi Muchi with a lot of layers on top of it of Sally Hansen’s Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear in 200 Strobe Light on my ring finger. I then used the Sephora by O.P.I Matte Top Coat just on the grey nails to tone them down and leave all the sparkle to the glittery ring finger. I love the effect! I also think this would look amazing on red nail polish, because I find red to be such a bright colour and yes, it looks amazing when it’s shiny, but I think a matte effect on red would actually look great.

Here are the other colours I used in case you want to see them:

If you’re like me and you love to always have your nails painted, then you should definitely go out and pick this up! If you do, let me know how you like it :)

Happy coating! xx

Comments

  1. omg so cool…I want….damn Sweden! We don’t have sephora =(

    • beautilosophy says:

      I also discovered that Essie also makes a matte top coat so you could always try that if they have it in Sweden. If not, order online! :)

  2. So cool…. yet another item on my list… you blogg is no good for my economy ;) but it’s damn good for everything else :D

Trackbacks

  1. […] My latest addition to this collection is…MATTE TOP COAT! It is amazing. I didn’t even know you could get such a thing up until about a week ago when I read about it here! […]

Leave a Reply

