love it: laura mercier tinted moisturizer

Okay, so I know I recently raved in a previous Love It post about the Laura Mercier Silk Crème Foundation, but I do have to say that I think I’ve found my new go to “face base.” Like I previously mentioned, I don’t like to wear foundation on a daily basis only because I find it unnecessary, my skin isn’t very problematic on a regular day, and I just think it’s too heavy and too much for a day-to-day basis unless you’re the type of person who has problematic skin. So I’m constantly on the lookout for something light that I can use to cover any problem areas without it looking cakey and drying my skin out, especially since it is still summer time and this weather isn’t being kind to my skin.

So I’ve discovered another product by Laura Mercier, and it is her Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer, which you can find at Sephora. Again, it is on the pricey side (what can you expect out of a high-end brand any way?) at $42 + tax, but what can I say? It’s like my face found it’s soulmate! I have never been so impressed by a product. I won’t lie, I’ve never used tinted moisturizer’s before; this is my first. I purchased it a week ago, and I’ve used it maybe 5 times. The minute I applied it to my skin, I could feel how moisturizing it actually is. I would say the level of coverage it gives is between light to medium, but more on the light side, depending of course on how many layers you apply to your face. I’ll be inserting photos I took before and after application so you can see the difference. It also has an SPF of 20 (an added bonus!), to protect your skin from the harmful rays of the sun.

But what I really loved about it the most is how it made my skin look so fresh and dewy. Not sweaty, but dewy! It gave me this nice glow and I really don’t know how else to describe it, but I absolutely loved it. It lasted on my face all day, and as a small test at the end of the day, I ran my fingers across my cheek to see what it felt like, and it still felt supple, soft, and hydrated. Win!

This product comes in two types: the regular and the oil free. I opted for the oil free only because I have combination skin and I didn’t want something that would make my face look oily. So I wouldn’t recommend the regular one unless you have dry skin. From what I know, products that have oils in them can tend to break you out. In any case, it would be best to ask a Sephora employee (or an employee at any store that sells Laura Mercier products) for help on deciding which type is best for you. It also comes in a wide range of shades, 10 to be exact. I am in the shade Bisque. They will also be able to help you pick the right shade for your skin.

Here are the before and after application pictures that I promised. The before picture is how my skin looks like without any moisturizer or makeup on:

     

As you can see, it has a slight tint to it and gives a light coverage. You can still see some of the acne on my face, but it is less noticeable and the redness is gone, so I find this perfect for a quick cover-up. I don’t even use concealer after I apply this.

If you end up purchasing it, or already have and use it, do let me know how it works for you or any other thoughts you may have on the product!

Happy tinting! xx

Comments

  1. I think I’m going to try it out. Right now I’m using Dior Nude, amazing and I’m loving it. But as you said foundation can dry out… so I’ll see if they sell it here in Sweden and I’ll let you know

    xoxo

    • beautilosophy says:

      How is the Dior Nude one? Is it sheer or thick? Definitely do try it out and let me know :):)

      • its sheer and feels so natural…

        Im still looking for it here in Stockholm!! I’lll find it….there has to be someone who sells it hehe

  2. The Laura tint is my favorite! The oil free is even better coverage than the regular and it doesn’t look like I have makeup on when I wear it! Love!

    • beautilosophy says:

      Hey Heather, thanks for leaving a comment! :) I use oil free because I have combination skin, and I don’t think that the other kind would work for me. But you’re definitely right! This gives amazing coverage and looks AND feels very natural on! Good choice!

      Any other products you would recommend? Please do let me know if there is any topic or product you would like me to talk about or try and I’ll be sure to do so :)

  3. Hi, great post I have tried the laurier mercier tinted moisturiser its fab but if you would like more coverage I prefer bobbi brown oil free tinted moisturiser, this one seems to keep my t-zone matt better than the laura mercier, and is more yellow toned so suitable for more tanned and dark complexions x

    • beautilosophy says:

      Really? Hmmm I’ve never tried that one. Maybe I’ll add it to my shopping list. I currently moved on from the LM Tinted Moisturizer and now use the MAC Face & Body. It’s not a full coverage at all, it’s pretty sheer, but I absolutely love the way it feels on my skin. Have you ever tried it?

  4. pardon my spelling mistakes typing to fast!

Leave a Reply

