daisy nail art – something different

I love browsing YouTube beauty videos and coming across seriously great ideas that make me wonder ‘who in the world thought of doing this like that and why?!’

As you may already know, or noticed, I have a severe obsession with nail polish and nail design. I’m always on the lookout for interesting nail art. My nails are never left un-manicured. I just feel… naked. Oh the horror! So I was so happy when I came across this one video on YouTube by CutePolish in which she did a Nyan cat inspired nail design (if you don’t know what Nyan cat is, feel free to YouTube it, but please don’t blame me if it annoys you :p I am not responsible for the emotions that the video might stir up in you). She shows you a way of creating nail design without having to do it directly on your nail, making it a lot easier but slightly time consuming.

I hope you clicked the link of the nail tutorial, otherwise that last sentence and this next part might not make any sense to you whatsoever. The things you are going to need in order to create a nail design using the method that CutePolish implemented are:

* Dotting tool or bobby pin
* Tooth pick
* Plastic sandwich bags
* Tweezers

First, place your sandwich bag on a flat surface. Next, use your dotting tool/bobby pin, dip it in the nail polish of your choice, and create a design on the sandwich bag. Finally, use the tooth pick to clean up any design mistakes or maybe even enhance your design. Here is what I came up with on my sandwich bag:

I created the daisies with white nail polish using a bobby pin by making dots and connecting them in the middle, then I added a yellow dot in the center of the flower to make it look more realistic. I then used the tooth pick to create the spaces between each petal. Once you have the design you like, let it dry for an hour. Afterwards, using a pair of tweezers, peel the design off the sandwich bag slowly. It should come out in one piece if it was left to dry long enough. Your nails should already be painted with a base colour of your choice. I opted for Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear Hard as Nails in the colour Lacey Lilac. Place the design you made on whatever nail you want and press it gently into the nail. Use a top coat to seal it in place, wait for it to dry and voila! You got yourself a really cute nail design! This is what my accent nail looked like when it completely dried:

I recommend this way of creating nail designs for those of who have time on their hands, and don’t have a steady hand to draw something on their own nails. It’s a lot easier to draw it on the bag, as you can change it around however you like and if you make a mistake, you don’t have to repaint your nails all over again.

I hope this post was as interesting to you as it was interesting for me to make for you! If there is anything that was not understood, you can always refer to the video by CutePolish that I linked above and it will hopefully then be clearer to you.

Happy designing! xx

Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    LOVE THIS!

  2. OMG I can’t wait to try this for real! I’ll bring my camera and we’ll have a nail art par-tay!

  3. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this web site!

  4. very pretty, you are so talented, love your blog, i’m going to follow you <3

  5. Haha, I remember the first time I saw the Nyan Cat. Cute, but then went on for a long time and then got annoying. :P But I still like how the Nyan Cat looks – over-the-top adorable!

    Cutepolish is also one of my favourite nail YouTubers. :)

    This daisy design looks really sweet on you. Thanks for sharing how you did it, too. I’m sure a lot of people will want to try this out.

    • beautilosophy says:

      Mary! Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it :)

      Share! I’m sure your readers will love it too. I’m going to add you to my blog roll so my readers can head over to your profile too

  6. I”m loving this process! I never thought to do it with nailpolish! You can do it with Royal Icing for cookies and cake decorations as well (FYI). I am definitely going to try this one. Thank you for sharing!

    • beautilosophy says:

      Wow, I never thought of that! I think I want to try it out with the icing then. What’s the process like though? Do I leave the icing on the bag for an hour in the fridge (i’m guessing)?

      You’re welcome! x

  7. Great site, although I am having issues signing up for your newsletter. Anyone else have this problem?

    • beautilosophy says:

      You just need to enter your email in the email subscription box and you’ll be subscribed! When I make new posts, you’ll receive them in your inbox. Hope this helps :)

Leave a Reply

