love it: oh they’re real, alright!

I’ve been on the hunt for a go-to mascara for a while. I must have tried almost every brand out there, from high-end ones like Christian Dior and Lancôme to drugstore brands like L’Oréal, Maybelline, Cover Girl and more. I have liked some and disliked many. My main concerns with mascara’s, in general, are clumpy-ness and a formula that dries up fast, and I found a lot of the mascara’s I tried have dried up faster than their 3-month life span, so I barely get to try them out and really get a feel for them before I have to throw them away.

But, I think I have finally found my true mascara-love. I’ve been using Benefit’s They’re Real! Mascara for about 3 weeks now, and to say that it isn’t the damn best mascara I have used thus far would be a lie. The formula is amazing. I find that mascara’s are either too wet (which brings about a huge mess on my lid) or too dry (which just makes my lashes look like they’re made of straw). This mascara, though, is the perfect in-between. It has a wet formula, but holds really well on your lashes, dries in a convenient amount of time (in case you’re the type to take a bit of a break between coat application), and holds the curl in your lashes perfectly. For $22 + tax, it is on the higher priced side of mascara’s, but I think it’s well worth it.

The brush is great. It’s a regular brush applicator with lots of evenly spaced, thin bristles. In my opinion though, the best part has to be the ball-brush applicator at the top. It makes it easier to get to those corner lashes that are usually hard to get to when using a regular mascara brush, without getting mascara all over your lids. The ball-brush is also perfect for brushing through and separating lashes.

Some pictures I took of my lashes while getting ready this morning:

           No Mascara                             One Coat                             Two Coats

Let me know if you’ve tried this mascara before and what you think of it. In the mean time, I’m going to sip my tea and brainstorm some ideas for my next post :)

Happy coating! xx

Comments

  1. I’ve been addicted to Estee Lauder’s Magnascopic for a couple of years, but I wanted to try something new – I’ll give this a shot!

    • beautilosophy says:

      I’ve never tried that one, but this one is really really really good. Definitely recommend it. Plus, you have beautiful eyes! I think it’ll work wonderfully on you :)

  2. As I was reading your post I was thinking how I should leave you a comment recommending this exact mascara! I just tried it as a freebie from Sephora and love it. My eyelashes look amazing when I wear it. Great choice.

    • beautilosophy says:

      Thank you so much for leaving a comment then :) The mascara is definitely great! Have you tried anything else that might have been comparable?

  3. polyenthusiast says:

    I’ll definitely be trying Benefit They’re Real next! Thanks for the awesome reco!

    I’ve been using DiorShow for years because I couldn’t find anything better! I love the separation and that it doesn’t cause breakage for those times I fall asleep with it on, but the bottle really does dry out far too quickly for my liking, and 33 bucks a pop every two months is starting to kill me.

    P.s. where can I buy it? Sephora? Holt’s? Shoppers DM?

    • beautilosophy says:

      You should definitely try it out Lu, it’s super duper haha. I’ve heard of Dior Show but never tried it. You can get the Benefit mascara at all 3 of those places btw.

      PS. NEVER sleep with your makeup on! You don’t want to ruin your pretty face do you? Hehe xx

  4. Mariam Hakim says:

    Was looking to get a new mascara, will definitely be trying this!

  5. I agree- tried this mascara after reading a LOT of hype about it. And the hype was right- it is amazing!! £18.50 in the UK which is quite pricey but so worth it :)

    • beautilosophy says:

      Yes it is quite expensive, but as you said, it’s so worth it! Thank you for leaving a comment :) x

Leave a Reply

