tasty treat: chocolate heaven

I’m on a baking frenzy lately, and I don’t know why. I find it to be a form of stress relief for me. It just makes me feel so… happy! So I’m back again with a second tasty treat for the softest, moistest, most amazing smelling chocolate cake ever. Just look at it! I made it with love for my mommy who’s coming back from a vacation visiting her family back home.

What you’re going to need:
♥ 2 cups sugar
♥ 2 cups flour
♥ ¾ cup cocoa powder
♥ 2 teaspoons baking soda
♥ 2 eggs
♥ 1 teaspoon salt
♥ 1 cup buttermilk (or substitute for ¾ cup regular milk & ¼ cup whipping cream)
♥ 1 cup vegetable oil
♥ 1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

How to make the cake:
Preheat your over to 350F. Place the 2 cups of sugar in a small bowl, boil 1 cup of water and pour it over the sugar. Stir until all the sugar granules have melted. Set aside to use later.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, eggs, salt, buttermilk, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract. Make sure to mix them really well. The end result will be a dough-like texture but don’t let that worry you! This is where you add the sugar syrup that you set aside in the beginning. Mix again until you get a nice liquidy texture. Pour your mix into your cake pan and you’re all set! Bake for 45-50 minutes if you’re making it as a cake. If you’re using this recipe to make cupcakes, then only bake for 22 minutes. Once it cools, go ahead and nom on it! Buuuut for someone like me who absolutely loves frosting, I had to make that too.

What you’re going to need:
♥ 4oz cream cheese
♥ 4 tablespoons butter
♥ 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
♥ 1 cup icing sugar
♥ Less than ¼ cup whipping cream

How to make the frosting:
In a bowl, mix all the ingredients and mix, mix, mix! Make sure it turns out really fluffy, like a cloud :)

Frost your cake and voila ~ you are done! Let me know if you give this recipe a try and how it turned out for you.

Happy baking! xx

Note: All credit goes to Kandee J, for inspiring me and providing me with a delicious and easy recipe! No changes have been made to the original recipe except that I cut the amount of frosting ingredients in half. Thank you Kandee!

Comments

  1. If you have an Android phone, you should try the BigOven app. It has loads of recipes (for meals as well as baking). I think you can get it on the iPhone as well.

    • beautilosophy says:

      I have an iPhone and I downloaded the app last night! Didn’t take a look at it just yet, but I’ll make sure to check it out. Thank you so much for the recommendation! :) xx

Leave a Reply

